Samhain Blessings!

This year we are celebrating our first Samhain as I have been looking into Earth related festivals. We don’t follow a religion and I reject the faith pressed upon me as a child while in school, but lately I have had a desire to recognise and thank the Earth and the Universe for what it provides.

I’ll be making pumpkin soup later today, and we’ll eat it with homemade bread (mixed from a packet!) hot from the oven. Last week I collected some leaves and cones with the small one so we will sit down and touch, see, listen and experience Autumn. She’ll think its great fun!

Last night we had a go at making Clementine Candles which was a semi-success, not so much olive oil next time I think. Still, if you’re like me and hardly eat fruit its a great incentive to get some Vit C.

Enjoy Samhain!

Dancing Fox pumpkin

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KatiesCameraBlog
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 15:41:04

    I love how your celebrating this Samhain. It feels so natural and real. Enjoy! And love the image too. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Gemma
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 17:16:21

    You might be interested in Pantheism… it’s not a religion as such, but it is a reverence for Nature, the Earth and the Universe. I tried for years to have religion, cycling through Christianity, Paganism and Wicca, but i couldnt get fully on board with the whole “gods” thing. It made me feel cheap, a fraud. Then i tried being an Atheist, but i felt naked without my Nature-worship. It was around this point i was introduced to Pantheism, and for the first time, something made absolute sense. A basic idea of Pantheism is the movie “Avatar”. Anyway, just something you might want to look into, if you’re interested!

    Reply

  3. annabowen
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 17:37:30

    I love your pumpkin! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

