More than just a jeans & t-shirt girl…

So I live in jeans and t-shirts, but there’s more to me than that. What if I want to be a skirt girl? Or a summer-dress-and-scarf-in-my-hair kind of girl?

But the thing is, that would mean stepping outside my comfort zone and challenging my sense of self. And just to complicate matters, it also means challenging the expectations that other people have of me.

Sometimes the weight of  other peoples perceptions and expectations can be crushing. It comes from all sides and squashes us into boxes. Sometimes, no matter how claustrophobic  the box seems, its easier just to sit in there than it is to break out and start doing something different.

But the laws of nature and the universe demonstrates that things don’t stay the same. Life is beautiful and the future is a blank canvas. Every day I see endless possibilities and amazing changes within a child. This magic doesn’t cease when we reach adulthood, unless we build our own glass ceilings.

Do something different today.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:25:53

    You are a very wise and perceptive young lady. I realised long ago that there is a lot more to you than just a pretty face.

    Nicely written, Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Gemma
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 18:22:21

    I agree, beautifully written, and so true!

    Reply

  3. busychasingbutterflies
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 08:43:56

    Thank you both xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

